Featuring Scientists of the Future 

The Symposium

A Day of Cutting Edge Science
April 06, 2023
08:45 am

The Buck Student Aging Symposium (BSAS) is an annual research conference hosted by the Graduate Student Society for the students of the Buck to present to the entire Buck community as they would at any other national or international conferences. All Buck researchers and administrators are invited and encouraged to attend, as this event showcases the hard work these students have performed during their stay at the Buck Institute. The day will feature talks by Master's and Doctoral students as well as a poster session open to all students. In addition, each BSAS includes a keynote speaker (Dr. Irina Conboy in 2016, Dr. Daniel Promislow in 2017, Dr. Anne Brunet in 2018, Dr. Caleb Finch in 2019, Dr. David Sinclair in 2021 and Dr. Linda Partridge in 2022). Dr. Dena Dubal will be our keynote for 2023!

A subsection of the Graduate Student Society meets weekly for months in advance to make this yearly conference possible. With great help Lori Lee and Dr. Birgit Schilling and advising from Meagan Moore, Dr. Gordon Lithgow, and Dr. Robin Snyder, the committee works hard to plan the event agenda, find sources of funding, and coordinate with the Buck staff.

Starting in 2022 the BSAS keynote has been renamed the Arnold J. Kahn Memorial Lecture. We are deeply grateful to Arnie's relatives: Dr. and Mrs. C. Ronald Kahn and Dr. Jane Carey Kahn who have committed to support the BSAS keynote this year and in future years. With their sponsorship we are able to reach preeminent scientists from around the world and this year we welcome Professor Dame Linda Partridge for the inaugural address.

With everyone’s help and support, BSAS has been able to grow in attendance as well as the activities planned, and the hope is to continue this growth for years to come!


The Organizers

Who are the BSAS committee members? 

The Graduate Student Society (GSS) strives to better the educational and social experience of the graduate students at the Buck Institute for Research on Aging. The Buck Student Aging Symposium was initiated by the GSS to enrich the student experience at The Buck. All students are invited to provide their suggestions and input, and a subsection of the GSS (the BSAS committee) meets weekly after normal work hours to discuss and act upon the finer details of the event, such as inviting guest speakers, preparing the event agenda, and seeking donations.

This year’s BSAS committee is as follows:

GSS Committee 

Brenda Eap (President of GSS, PhD Student, Newman Lab)

Sidharth Madhavan (VP of GSS PhD Student, Newman Lab)

Ariel Floro (Secretary of GSS, PhD Student, Verdin Lab)

Zoe Du (Treasurer of GSS, PhD Student, Winer Lab)

Kirsten Chui (Social Chair, PhD Student, Newman Lab)

Ana Escalante (Masters Student, Benz Lab)

Ling Hsuan Sun (PhD Student, Hansen Lab)

Lizbeth Enriquez (Masters Student, Kapahi Lab)

Karishma Patel (Masters Student, Kapahi Lab)

Doyle Lokitiyakul (PhD Student, Tracy Lab)

Ivy Wong (Research Associate, Tracy Lab)

Cristina Alexandru (PhD Student, Verdin Lab)

Alan Tomusiak (PhD Student, Verdin Lab)

Lauren Haky (Masters Student, Verdin Lab)

Wendy Jara (Masters Student, Verdin Lab)
Dr. Birgit Schilling - Faculty Adviser

Lori Lee - Events Coordinator




Welcome Announcements​



Dr. David Sinclair

Department of Genetics and co-Director of the Paul F. Glenn Center for the Biology of Aging at Harvard Medical School




Master's Student Speaker Series

Geoffrey Meyerhof, Kapahi Laboratory (Dominican University of California)

Title: Dietary restriction enhances circadian amplitude and delays visual decline by enhancing phototransduction

Jacob Rose, Benz Laboratory (Dominican University of California)

Title: Modulating ERBB2 mRNA stability by HDACi and p300 HAT inhibition in ERBB2 overexpressing breast cancer cells

Cagsar Apaydin, Jasper Laboratory (San Francisco State University)

Title: Glial and neuronal-derived cytokines promote age-related loss of tissue homeostasis






Welcome Announcements​


Arnold J. Kahn Memorial Lecture

Inaugural Keynote Lecture:

Denal Dubal, M.D., Ph.D

David A. Coulter Endowed Chair in Aging and Neurogenerative Disease 

University of San Francisco Weill Institute for Neuroscience 


Buck-USC Biology of Aging Ph.D. Program Student Talks

Coming soon!




Trainee Poster Session


Graduating Dominican Master's Student Talks

Coming Soon!


Coffee Break


Career Panel


Prizes and Closing Remarks




BSAS 2022 Sponsors


Dr. and Mrs. C Ronald Kahn

Dr. Jane Carey Kahn

decidious therapeutics logo copied from website.PNG


Register to attend BSAS 2023
Register to present at BSAS 2023